A Year Ago

A year ago I took a trip to Israel.  I was struck by the importance of the land.  When I returned home, I was compelled to drive around my community – learning the road names and landmarks.

I had been a pastor in the community for three years and now I sensed God saying to me, ‘You are the pastor of all the people in this community.  I have called you to love them all.’

I didn’t know exactly what this meant until last summer.  Now I know.  Our community is suffering from the destruction of addiction – especially addiction to heroin and opiates.  The purpose of this blog is to begin recording my journey as a pastor to a community under the siege of addiction.  It is my desire to enter the conversation of hope and recovery.  It is my prayer you will join me, adding your experiences and insights and prayers.

Leave a Reply

